I Hope We Draw a Box Monday. My Figurative Skills Are Unskilled

Figures
Everyone Can See I Can’t Draw 2016. Acrylic on canvas, 12 x 12″

Our first “pilot” session via Skype happens Monday. Two 45 minute sessions with a 15 minute break in between. I wrote to Alexey that due to the language barrier, we should just “grunt” our acquaintance. I asked if they listen to music while painting. Yes, they do.

My God it’s January, I shouldn’t be socializing. This morning I took a look at Lena Ulanova’s latest piece to learn about noses and eyes, and felt a brick drop into my chest. Eyes should be so simple to recreate from our never-ending lifelong exposure to them. Ha! You human being, look at a million-billion eyes, ears, noses and try to pencil them into a puzzle. Thoreau:

“Could a greater miracle take place than for us to look through each other’s eyes for an instant?”

I think we might already try, but never last long enough in concentration to follow through. Whose eye detail is imprinted on our brains like a cube or a rectangle? Even those I love the most, I cannot recreate their eyes when I close mine.

Failure!

Below is the work from Lena Ulanova, a painter who sees eyes.

.

LenaScrubs
Girls In Scrubs 
Leave a Reply

